ISSN 0018-229X printed version
ISSN 2309-8392 online version




Editors–in–Chief: Prof. Julie Parle, from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa.

Co–Editor: Dr Danelle van Zyl–Hermann, Centre for Africa Studies, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa.

Co–Editor: Dr Chet Fransch, Department of History, Stellenbosch University, Stellenbosch, South Africa.

Review Editor: Ms Charmaine Hlongwane, North–West University, Vanderbijlpark, South Africa.

Blog Editor: Dr Cornelis Muller, School of Humanities, Sol Plaatje University, Kimberley, South Africa.


Editorial Board

  • Karen Harris, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Ian Phimister, University of the Free State, South Africa
  • Alois Mlambo, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Peter Limb, University of Michigan, United States
  • Georgi Verbeeck, Maastricht University, the Netherlands
  • Goolam Vahed, University of Kwa–Zulu Natal, South Africa
  • Christopher Saunders, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Albert Grundlingh, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Jacob Dlamini, Princeton University, United States
  • Barbara Henkes, University of Groningen, the Netherlands
  • Lize–Marié van der Watt, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Jan–Bart Gewald, University of Leiden, the Netherlands
  • Andrew Thompson, University of Exeter, United Kingdom
  • Saul Dubow, University of Cambridge, England
  • Karen Horn, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Rosa Williams, University of the Free State, South Africa
  • Jonathan Hyslop, Colgate University, United States
  • Lucien van der Walt, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • Stephen Sparks, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Prinisha Badassy, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Nicholas Southey, University of South Africa, South Africa
  • Johan Wassermann, University of Pretoria, South Africa


Editorial production

Text editing

Bridget Theron (English)

Typeset and Layout

Elzabé Vosloo (V&R Printing Works)


[Home] [About this journal] [Instructions to authors] [Subscription]

Creative Commons License All the content of the journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons License

The Historical Association of South Africa
c/o Department of Historical and Heritage Studies, University of Pretoria,
Pretoria, Gauteng, ZA, 0028,
Tel: +27 12 420 2323