SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.85 issue1Prevalence of select vector-borne disease agents in owned dogs of GhanaA brief overview of the history of veterinary field services in South Africa author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand



Related links

  • On index processCited by Google
  • On index processSimilars in Google


Journal of the South African Veterinary Association

On-line version ISSN 2224-9435
Print version ISSN 1019-9128


ARDINGTON, Peter C.  and  BIGALKE, Rudolph D.. The role of the South African Veterinary Council, with special reference to the period 1982-2011. J. S. Afr. Vet. Assoc. [online]. 2014, vol.85, n.1. ISSN 2224-9435.

The current South African Veterinary Council (SAVC) has a long and laborious history associated with the legislation responsible for its establishment. The forerunner of the SAVC, the South African Veterinary Board, was established in terms of the Veterinary Act 1933 (Act No. 16 of 1933), which was launched through Parliament as a private motion by Dr Hjalmar Reitz M.P. After several amendments, the Act was replaced with the Veterinary and Para-veterinary Professions Act 1982 (Act No. 19 of 1982), superseding the existing Board with the SAVC. One of the reasons for replacing this Act was to comply with Government policy for professional statutory bodies to become self-funding, with fees paid by registered professionals, and to constitute councils that were more representative of the profession. Apart from providing some background information, this article was virtually entirely confined to some historic aspects of the SAVC, using, as its basis, the main developments that occurred during the terms of office of its various presidents, serving from 1982 to 2011. The presidents concerned are: Prof. B.C. Jansen (28 March 1983 - 28 March 1986), Dr G.E. Frost (14 April 1986 - 31 March 1992), Prof. R.I. Coubrough (07 April 1992 - 21 March 1994), Dr P.C. Ardington (21 March 1994 - 31 March 1998), Prof H.M. Terblanche (31 March 1998 - 31 March 2004), Prof. S.S. van den Berg (01 April 2004 - 30 July 2007) and Dr R. Moerane (06 August 2007 - 31 July 2013).

        · text in English     · English ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License