SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online

vol.45 issue1John de Gruchy's understanding of the kingdom of God as articulated in "The Church Struggle in South Africa"Rhijnvis Feith and Melancholic Hymnody in the Voortrekker Woman Susanna Smit's Spiritual Diaries author indexsubject indexarticles search
Home Pagealphabetic serial listing  

Services on Demand



Related links

  • On index processCited by Google
  • On index processSimilars in Google


Studia Historiae Ecclesiasticae

On-line version ISSN 2412-4265
Print version ISSN 1017-0499


MOFOKENG, Thabang  and  MADISE, Mokhele. The evangelicalisation of black Pentecostalism in the AFM of SA (1940—1975): A turning point. Studia Hist. Ecc. [online]. 2019, vol.45, n.1, pp.1-16. ISSN 2412-4265.

The Apostolic Faith Mission (AFM) of South Africa, a Pentecostal denomination founded in 1908 by an American missionary, John G Lake, attracted a large following of blacks in South Africa from its inception. This denomination contributed a large body of Zionist churches to the African Independent Church movement. Among its black members before and during the 1940s, it was Zionist-like-only undergoing changes between 1943 and 1975 resulting in it becoming outright evangelical. This was a turning point in the history of the AFM and black Pentecostals specifically, as it brought this large body of followers culturally closer to the dominant evangelical expression of Pentecostalism in the denomination. This article looks into reasons behind the changes as well as how they were carried out. Primary sources, available at the AFM archives, and secondary sources such as theses, articles and books with a bearing on the topic have been consulted. The article contributes to the growing body of South African Pentecostal history.

Keywords : Apostolic Faith Mission (AFM); black Pentecostalism; Evangelicalism; missions; Zionism.

        · text in English     · English ( pdf )


Creative Commons License All the contents of this journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License