ISSN 0041-476X printed version
ISSN 2309-9070 online version



Basic information

The Tydskrif vir Letterkunde is a peer–reviewed scholarly journal published by the Tydskrif vir Letterkunde Association. The journal publishes peer–reviewed articles, overviews, review articles, reviews, commentaries on African Literature and Literary Reviews in Afrikaans, Dutch, English and French.

In 1936 the Afrikaanse Skrywerskring under the leadership of CM van den Heever, Abel Coetzee and others started the Jaarboek van die Afrikaanse Skrywerskring. This annual review continued until 1950 when it was transformed into a new quarterly.

As from 1951 its successor, the Tydskrif vir Letterkunde, with CM van den Heever as its first editor, concentrated exclusively on Afrikaans Literature and appeared quarterly.

In the early 1960s the Journal was briefly (for one issue) renamed Sestig -- Tydskrif vir Letterkunde – during the editorship of Abel Coetzee. In 1963 the Journal reverted to its previous title, restarting the series from vol 1, no 1.

Thereafter the journal was edited successively by Coenie Rudolph, Elize Botha and Henning Pieterse.

With the editorship of Hein Willemse (from 2003 onwards) fundamental changes were brought about:

  • from a journal publishing only on Afrikaans Literature its mission was enhanced to embrace African literature broadly;
  • the publication frequency changed from four times per year to twice per year;
  • the format of the print journal was changed to a primarily peer-reviewed literary journal. Previously the journal maintained a mixed format of creative literary writing, scholarly writing and annual literary reviews on Afrikaans literary happenings.
  • its policy on languages of publication was changed from Afrikaans only to Afrikaans, Dutch, English and French.
  • editors and associates from Africa, North America and Europe were appointed.
  • its focus also changed from a general informed Afrikaans readership to an advanced academic readership.

The journal is published twice per year, in April and September.

Its abbreviated key title is Tydskr. Letterkd., that should be used in footnotes and references.


Index sources

  • MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
  • International Index to Black Periodicals
  • Arts and Humanities Search
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • Web of Science
  • Scopus
  • Directory of Open Access Journals



All work published is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution–ShareAlike 4.0 International license (CC BY–SA 4.0)



The publication does not have a sponsor.


[Home] [Editorial board] [Instructions to authors] [Subscriptions]

Creative Commons License All the content of the journal, except where otherwise noted, is licensed under a Creative Commons License

Tydskrif vir Letterkunde Association
Department of Afrikaans, University of Pretoria, Hatfield, Pretoria, Gauteng, ZA, 0002,
Tel: +27 12 420 4075